Skip to main content
Please wait...

About the Faculty

The Faculty of Computing and Informatics offers different specialisations at multiple exit levels. We conduct applied research aimed at solving national and international problems. We consider community service as a priority.

The faculty currently consists of 2 schools with five departments, namely:

School of Computing

  • Department of Computer Science
    •     Systems Administration
    •     Communication Networks
  • Department of Software Engineering
    •     Software Development
  • Department of Cyber Security
    •     Cyber Security
    •     Digital Forensics
    •     Information Security

School of Informatics, Journalism and Media Technology

  • Department of Informatics
    •     Informatics
    •     Information Systems Audit
    •     Web Informatics
    •     Business Informatics
    •     Data Science
  • Department of Journalism and Media Technology
    •     Journalism
    •     Media Technology


There was thus an alignment of the new programmes according to the guidelines of in ternational bodies such as ACM-IEEE-CS-AIS with focus on its latest curriculum guide. This also informed the migration of two institutional core courses (CUS411S and ICT521S) to the Faculty of Human Sciences. A staffing complement of 42 recorded a number of academic achievements, and a continuous staff development programme allowed a number of junior staff and lecturers to embark on doctoral studies, and for some, their Masters. The number of PhD holders increased fr om 5 to 11, with expectation to grow to 16 early in the new year. Great improvement was achieved in teaching and learning with an enrolment of 931, and 98 gr aduates in October. The introduction of e-learning platform to two major core institutional courses (CUS411S and ICT521S) is another highlight. CUS411S received the best e-learning (blended mode) course a ward on the Technology Day at which occasion Johnson Shimaneni was a warded the best e-learning course developer prize for “Accounting Information Systems” (AIS811S). The entire faculty relocated to a newly acquired building, called Information Technology House, and the departments worked diligently with all institutional stakeholders to success fully complete the 4th Institutional Strategy Plan (PSP-4).


About Namibia University of Science and Technology

logo crest


A premier technological university known for knowledge creation, innovation, and entrepreneurship.


An engaged and responsive university, meeting the needs of stakeholders through excellent education, applied research, innovation and service.

Vist NUST website